Media advisory – Her Excellency will present the Governor General's Literary Awards during a ceremony at Rideau Hall

OTTAWA, ON, April 16, 2024 /CNW/ – Her Excellency the Right Honourable Mary Simon, Governor General of Canada, will present Canada’s top literary awards to outstanding Canadians during a ceremony at Rideau Hall. The winners from 2020 to 2023 will receive their awards at the ceremony.

The Governor General’s Literary Awards recognize Canada’s 14 best English- and French-language books in each of the following 7 categories: fiction, non‑fiction, poetry, drama, young people’s literature—text, young people’s literature—illustrated books and translation.

List of winners of the Governor General’s Literary Awards


 Thursday, April 18, 2024


  11:00 a.m.


  Ballroom, Rideau Hall


Notes for media:
  • To guarantee your access to the ceremony, we ask that you please confirm your attendance with the Rideau Hall Press Office at [email protected].
  • Media are asked to arrive no later than 10:30 a.m. on the day of the ceremony.
  • Photos of the ceremony taken by the Governor General’s official photographer can be made available upon request.
About the Governor General’s Literary Awards

The Governor General’s Literary Awards are administered by the Canada Council for the Arts. They were established in 1936 by the Canadian Authors Association and Lord Tweedsmuir, who served as governor general at the time. These awards celebrate the vitality of the country’s literary community and pay tribute to the literary work of Canadian creators. 

Find more information about the Governor General’s Literary Awards

Stay connected:

Follow GovernorGeneralCanada on Facebook, Instagram, X and YouTube.

SOURCE Governor General of Canada


Source link

PIA Logo Private Internet Access gives you unparalleled access to thousands of next-gen servers in over 83 countries and each US state. Your VPN experience will always be fast, smooth, and reliable.